Butterfly Wings – the power of nature

Butterfly wings are beautiful.  Just ask my 8 year daughter.  This morning as we walked to the bus stop, she spotted a partial butterfly wing on the ground.  She picked it up, carefully examined it and then asked why would a part of a butterfly wing be on the ground ?

Image

I said yes, butterfly wings are beautiful. I then explained that sometimes as the butterflies glide through the air that birds catch and eat them. My daughter was horrified! Birds eat butterflies?? Say it isn’t true her expression told me.

Then the tears came streaming down her face. Poor butterfly. Birds are mean she said. I gently explained, no birds are not mean. It is part of nature and the balance of the world. It didn’t help, more tears.

Nature can be a powerful teacher. I just had my morning lesson.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags:

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

